From charlesreid1

This page is an attempt at a git-awesome list: comprehensive list of resources related to Git. I have made a note of items that are particularly helpful to learning git or developing git abstractions.

To start with, there's GitHub's list of resources: https://help.github.com/articles/good-resources-for-learning-git-and-github/

And awesome-git: https://github.com/dictcp/awesome-git

Books and Ebooks

Books

Title Author Publisher Notes
Pro Git Chacon and Straub Apress The Doorstop
Git Recipes: A Problem-Solution Approach Gajda Apress
Git In Practice McQuaid Manning The Hand-Basket Book
Learn Git in a Month of Lunches Rick Umail Manning
Version Control with Git: Powerful tools and techniques for collaborative software development Loelinger and McCullough O'Reilly The Bat Book
Git for Teams Emma Jane Hogbin Westby O'Reilly
Introducing GitHub: A Non-Technical Guide Bell and Beer O'Reilly The Chameleon Book
Github Dawson, Straub, O'Brien O'Reilly Forthcoming
Git Essentials Santacroce Packt
Git Version Control Cookbook Olsson and Voss Packt
Git: Version Control for Everyone Somasundaram Packt
Pragmatic Version Control Using Git Swicegood Pragmatic Bookshelf
Pragmatic Guide to Git Swicegood Pragmatic Bookshelf May be same as above, but not sure.
Git Distilled Bell Addison Wesley
Distributed Version Control with Git: Mastering the Git command line Vogel Vogella


Ebooks

Title Author Publisher Notes
Learn Version Control with Git: A step-by-step course for the complete beginner Günther Amazon Digital Services
Essential Git: Introduction to Git Basics for Beginners Paranj Amazon Digital Services
Introduction to Git-flow: A Git Workflow and Development Model Weed Amazon Digital Services
Practical Git Go2Group Amazon Digital Services
Git: Questions and Answers Duckett Amazon Digital Services
What Is Git?! Ahmadpanah CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Learning the Git Bash Shell Hanna CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform


Web Tutorials

These should be split up by audience.

Name Author Link Notes
Code School - Try Git https://try.github.io/levels/1/challenges/1 This is a fantastic interactive way to learn git. Using an interactive webapp really sharpens your mental model and your intuition about git.
Learn Git Branching Peter Cottle http://pcottle.github.io/learnGitBranching/ Another really fantastic interactive webapp for learning git. Can't stress this enough - webapps are fantastic for use as education tools. Use them!
git - the simple guide - no deep shit http://rogerdudler.github.io/git-guide/
Getting Git Right: Tutorials https://www.atlassian.com/git/tutorials/ This tutorial is a good all-around introduction to git, and the section on Collaborating (link) is particularly helpful. It stands out for a couple of reasons: simple language, an abundant use of simple figures, and including a discussion of each command. Figures aren't cluttered, and show one idea at a time. The use of color in the diagrams greatly enhances it.
GitRef http://gitref.org/
Git User Manual https://www.kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/user-manual.html ABANDON ALL HOPE YE WHO ENTER HERE
Git Magic http://www-cs-students.stanford.edu/~blynn/gitmagic/ Multilingual
CodeSchool: Git https://www.codeschool.com/paths/git Similar to GitHub link above, not sure what the difference is.
Pro Git Book Website Chacon and Straub https://progit.org/ The contents of this book are available online, in multiple book formats.
A Git Primer Daniel Miessler https://danielmiessler.com/study/git/
Git Immersion http://gitimmersion.com/
Git Koans Steve Losh http://stevelosh.com/blog/2013/04/git-koans/
Git How To http://githowto.com/
How To Use Git Digital Ocean https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-use-git-effectively
How To Use Git and GitHub Udacity https://www.udacity.com/course/how-to-use-git-and-github--ud775
Git for Computer Scientists http://eagain.net/articles/git-for-computer-scientists/
Git Ready http://gitready.com/
Think Like (a) Git http://think-like-a-git.net/
Team Treehouse: Git Basics http://teamtreehouse.com/library/git-basics
Git-SVN Crash Course (for SVN users) http://git.or.cz/course/svn.html
Git It http://jlord.us/git-it/
Understanding Git Conceptually http://www.sbf5.com/~cduan/technical/git/
Rewriting History with Git Rebase, Reset, and Amend http://collectiveidea.com/blog/archives/2015/07/23/rewriting-history-with-git-rebase-reset-and-amend/
Git from the Bottom Up http://ftp.newartisans.com/pub/git.from.bottom.up.pdf
Using Git-Flow to Automate Your Git Branching Workflow http://jeffkreeftmeijer.com/2010/why-arent-you-using-git-flow/
How to get started with Git and work with Git Remote Repo http://www.ntu.edu.sg/home/ehchua/programming/howto/Git_HowTo.html
Introduction to Git Pluralsight http://www.pluralsight.com/courses/introduction-to-git
Using Git to Manage a Website Abhijit Menon-Sen http://toroid.org/ams/git-website-howto
A Successful Git Branching Model Vincent Driessen http://nvie.com/posts/a-successful-git-branching-model/
Git Extraction: Abusing Version Control Systems https://www.pentestpartners.com/blog/git-extraction-abusing-version-control-systems/
Git for Administrators https://docs.moodle.org/29/en/Git_for_Administrators
Ry's Git Tutorial http://rypress.com/tutorials/git/index
Working With Git Sense http://help.sense.io/v1.0/docs/working-with-git
Git Articles David Winterbottom http://codeinthehole.com/writing/tagged/git/
Forking the Git rtCamp https://rtcamp.com/tutorials/git/forking-git/
Got Git? Getting More Out of Your Github Repositories Code4Lib http://code4lib.org/conference/2015/brady
Getting Started with Git CDIPS http://cdips.physics.berkeley.edu/getting-started-with-git/
The VisualOps Book: git Visual Ops http://docs.visualops.io/state/common/git.html
Giving In to Git(Hub) https://dirkjan.ochtman.nl/writing/2014/03/30/giving-in-to-git-hub.html



Git Koans http://stevelosh.com/blog/2013/04/git-koans/
Git Reddit https://www.reddit.com/r/git/
When In Git (Tumblr) http://wheningit.tumblr.com/

Video Tutorials

Name Author Link Notes
Git for Ages 4 and Up https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ffBJ4sVUb4 This video was the beginning of having everything really click with my understanding of how git works under the hood and how to utilize it effectively. The tinker toys help!
Github Training and Guides https://www.youtube.com/githubguides Nice video collection from Github that introduces some nice features of both git and github. Can be confusing for new users, who don't always know when certain functionality is specific to git or to github.

Talks